What crafting I had a chance to do today was spent working on the crocheted rag rug that will eventually grace my basement’s new laminate flooring (that I laid myself).  My 2-year-old says it’s the sun.  I’m crocheting it in various shades of yellow mostly because it’s fabric I’ll never use to sew something for myself since I *really* can’t wear yellow.

I certainly like bright colours, though, as you can tell from the pic.  The red velvet throw is something I got at The Black Market in Toronto 10 years ago.  The quilt I sewed myself from Moda’s Happy Camper’s line, backed in a vintage white sheeting.  I got lazy and decided to piece the jelly roll without cutting any of it, but I love how it’s turned out.  The bright yellow pillow-case I got for 94 cents (really!) and I’ve got 6 of them (I bought all they had).  There are also two vintage armchairs in the room, a rust orange recliner and a bright green velvet chair with button-tufting.

Here’s Eva, sleeping at the other end of the couch.  The pillow is something I whipped up back when I still used to crochet with acrylic.  I never the use it now, mostly because I can’t stand the feel of it on my hands (plus natural fibres are just *so* much better, for so many different reasons).

And finally, here are some pics I took the other day when we went to Lawrencetown beach, specifically the large hill just past the beach which overlooks the ocean.  It was incredibly misty with fog rolling in off the ocean, even though elsewhere it was a beautifully hot sunny day.  The wildflowers up the hill are just fantastic (and I’m kind of obsessed with the macro setting on my SLR)

