I will be the first one to admit that I spend entirely too much time randomly surfing the internet.  At least by posting some of the odd and/or funny and/or informative things I’ve found, I’ll hopefully feel like this time isn’t entirely wasted.  It’ll also give me a place to find these links again (because my bookmarks are so disorganized it is truly frightening).  So, enjoy!  Also, have you noticed that while one may say ‘and/or’, nobody ever says ‘or/and’?

(1) I love this: the fishing community on the English tidal island of Lindisfarne (you know, the one the vikings, uh, pilfered… let’s move on…) has turned some of its old fishing boats into storage sheds!  Ingenious and beautiful.  I’d love to turn one into a secret fort.  The photo is by Kevin Wakelam (via CRAFT)

(2) Check this out: I found this awesome-sounding recipe *after* I got home from shopping for Thanksgiving dinner and *after* the grocery store had closed – and all I did was crave it!  I still haven’t gotten around to making it, but maybe if its here I’ll finally get around to it…  I found it here and it was provided by forum’s member Kitchen Witch:

Chestnut Pudding
Begin with one can of unsweetened chestnut paste, about sixteen ounces. The chestnut paste emerges from the can in a solid cylinder, and it must be chopped so it will cook well. I sometimes use a food processor.
Put the chestnut paste in a pot with half a cup of milk. I generally use lowfat. Cook the chestnut paste in the milk at a relatively low heat, stirring constantly, until they have combined to form a thick paste. Add half a cup of sugar and continue cooking, stirring until the sugar is thoroughly integrated. Add one teaspoon of vanilla. At this point you already have a thoroughly satisfying chestnut pudding.
But now comes the ingredient that, like one of Ovid’s metamorphoses, transforms it into something spectacular. You need a jar of sour cherries. These are sometimes sold under the name Morello cherries. sour cherries in rum! But sour cherries in plain syrup will do. I can’t tell you how many of these to add, except that I use about half a jar. Ideally, when eating the pudding, you should happen at every second or third mouthful on a sour cherry. Drain the sour cherries, stir them into the pudding gently, and heat though.
Put the pudding into the refrigerator to cool.

 

(3) I’ve recently discovered a new (to me) saying: ” Do the needful,” that is to  “do that which is requisite or necessary”. Although sometimes parodied as a staple of contemporary South Asian English, the expression was current in both British[1] and American English[2] well into the early 20th century. (full definition may be found here)

So now I’m off to do the needful and finish Boychild’s halloween costume.  Girlchild is done already because she needed it for school.  I’ll post pics as soon as I can.

Happy Halloween everybody, and a Blessed Samhain to all of my Celtic friends!

