Well, here we are three weeks later and hardly any progress has been made.  *Sigh*  This is my first major weaving project, and I’ve made a number of errors proportionate to my experience.  Little experience = major errors.

I threaded the pattern wrong the first time, so the spacer needed to be unwoven, the warp re-threaded and tied on again to the front.  Did I mention that we finally got some hot weather and that my studio/laundry room is like a sauna?

IMG_1711

Hemstitching after the new spacer section.

Still, it’s re-threaded etc and looking really good.  I rewove the spacer section and wove about a foot with the mohair, then cut it off as a sample.  It’s extra work, but I wanted to be absolutely sure of the final product.

IMG_1719On the loom with a new section of spacer, then woven with the dark blue mohair.   It’s a plain twill pattern that will leave the blanket nice and fluid.

I washed up the sample with some SOAK and let it dry.

IMG_1726

 

The moment of panic – have I done it right?  Will it wash well?

IMG_1727

Drying on the front porch.

I am very pleased with the results: drapey, soft, and warm.

IMG_1725

Lovely and soft!

IMG_1713

The kids are back to school this week, so it’s been really hectic, but stay tuned for more weaving updates!
