I love colour!  As a fibre artist, how could I not!  And I like to think that I’m good at choosing colours that go well together, though there are some that would disagree.  

There was a project that I wove using shades from 1970s melamine that definitely attracted some odd looks.

IMG_1270

I think it’s fabulous!

 

But if you aren’t trusting your instincts, and maybe just a few too many of your friends are giving you the look, check out some of these awesome online colour resources.  

 

I love to try different things, but if I wove up every colour combination I could think of, it would take a lifetime!  Places like these websites allow me to play around with colour combinations, find my favourites, and weave up the best things I can think of.  Plus, it’s just so much fun!

 

Basically, there are two types of colour resources online, the technical ones, and the artsy ones, but both are useful.  The technical ones tend to have black backgrounds and a bunch of numbers (don’t let that dissuade you!)  The artsy ones always seem to have a picture of a beach somewhere.

 

Technical Colour Resources:

 


 

Artsy Colour Resources:

 


 

And my FAVOURITE!  DeGraeve Color Palette.  This site allows you to upload your own picture, and it will pull from it a colour palette.  So cool!  So useful!  Here’s the picture I chose (below), and here’s the palette.


IMG_0243

Check out these great resources and find your favourite.  I guarantee you’ll think of colour in a whole new way!

 

